Andi Smith – Administrative Assistant

Armed with a bachelor’s degree in media arts and a minor in art history, this University of Arizona alumni wasn’t quite sure where her professional destiny would take her, but she knew something in the creative world was where she belonged.

Having studied abroad in Barcelona, Spain, during college and through her travels and art history classes, Andi’s appreciation for good architecture and how it affected those around her grew. So when she had the opportunity to work for an architecture firm, this Mesa, Ariz., native realized it would provide the type of environment she could be inspired by. Surrounded by innovative thinkers and visionaries, Andi has found the perfect fit at Drewett Works.

To learn more about Andi, read on.

What did you like most about college? I loved college and all of the memories with my friends. Being initiated into Pi Beta Phi was a special memory and started the fun of my college years.

Describe your family. My parents have been married for 45 years and I have a sister who is four years older than me. My dad graduated from UofA, then my sister and I both went there and were Pi Phi sorority sisters. We still have fun with the rivalry during football and basketball games. 

What is your favorite memory? In my senior year of college, I went to a UofA football game with my friends and met my now-husband, Skylar. Our wedding at the Montelucia Resort in Paradise Valley is also one of my favorite memories.

What was your most favorite/memorable job as a teenager? Working at my parents’ “office.” They were Taco Bell franchisees in Arizona.

Any special talents? As a kid, I played the piano and was in ballet for 15 years.

You’ve won the lottery. How would you spend your time? Traveling the world

Dream destination? It’s hard to choose one … Maldives, Greece, Ireland

What is your greatest fear? Being trapped in a fire

Proudest moment? The day our son, Beckham, was born, which was 7/7/18. We decided on the name because we were in room #7 at the hospital, which was David Beckham’s jersey number.

Free time activities?  Orangetheory Fitness, sporting events, and all of the activities with our 3-year old

Least favorite food? I like to try different types of food but I’m not a huge fan of olives

Favorite movie genre? Romantic comedies

First pet? We didn’t have any pets growing up but my grandma had a Schnauzer named Schultz. She lived around the corner from my parents so I would go to her house often to see him and to play. That was my parent’s way of not having to get us a dog.

One life lesson you have learned so far? Time flies, cherish all the small moments 

Favorite Netflix binge? Schitt’s Creek

Do you have any good habits? Working out 

Name two things you do every day. Drink coffee and shower, not at the same time

What is something you do when you are looking to relax? Schedule a spa day or take a nap

Favorite architect? C.P. Drewett! I also gained an appreciation for Antoni Gaudi when I was in Barcelona.

What aspect of your profession do you enjoy most? The interaction with creative and intelligent people

Dream vacation? Yacht trip around Greece 

The last book you read? I think the last time I had time to read, it was Honeymoon by James Patterson.

Favorite movie? Studying films in college made watching them for fun a little difficult.  I prefer watching reality TV on Bravo but if I had to choose a movie, Father of the Bride or Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

Who is on your current playlist? A very random mix of 80’s, 90’s, Pop, Classic Rock, and kid’s songs

Fireplace or bonfire? Outdoor fireplace

Favorite free-time activity? Taking our son to new and fun activities

Most embarrassing moment? Falling into a bush on New Year’s Eve in San Francisco 

Beach or mountains? Beach

Epitaph? Something sarcastic and funny