Carlos Elias III – Architect-in-Training

This Tucson born and Mexico raised future architect grew up surrounded by design and engineering setting him on the path to his future.

Born in Tucson, AZ, Carlos grew up in Mexico but returned to the U.S. in 2015, eventually making his way to Phoenix in 2019. He graduated from the Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education (ITESM) in Hermosillo, MEX with a Bachelor of Architecture degree and studied abroad at the Universidad de Barcelona.

Carlos, the older brother to two younger sisters, is married to his wife Elsa and they have a daughter, Isabella, born in January of 2020. Having a daughter has transformed him into a super human (dad) and developed within him a special talent for surviving days without sleep. A doting dad, he is constantly showing the latest snapshots of his adorable daughter to the DW team.

Let’s get to know Carlos a little better.

How did you become interested in architecture?  My mom is a designer and my dad a civil engineer. So I had the best of both sides.

What was your favorite/most memorable job as a teenager? I was a CAD drafter at my dad’s civil engineering firm. I used to create 3D topography based on aerial pictures.

Who is on your current playlist?  English: Amos Lee, Ash Grunwald, Ben Harper, The Black Seeds, Dennis Wilson, Jordie Lane, Joshua Radin. Spanish: Luis Miguel, Alejandro Sanz, Mana, Alejandro Fernandez.

Any other interesting tidbits? My favorite emoji is the dancing guy. And I met the Coldplay lead singer in London.

The last book you read? The Infinite Game by Simon Sinek

What aspect of our profession do you enjoy most? Being able to see my projects getting built.

What about architecture drew you to the field? Huge and complex buildings. I remember being inspired by Calatrava’s work.

One life lesson you have learned so far? Self-awareness is the key for happiness and success. I’ve spent so much time with myself so I know my purpose in this life and why I’m here right now.

What is your favorite memory? When my daughter was born.

Free time activities? Spend time with my family, photography, sketch, skate, read, go to the beach as much as I can, play soccer.