Kyle Balster – Architect-in-Training

He may be a Georgia native, but Kyle spent most of his informative years growing up in the heart of Wisconsin’s dairyland on a hobby farm in Sherwood, Wisc.

Kyle earned his undergraduate degree in architecture with a minor in sustainability at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities in 2019. Two years later, he received his master’s in architecture at Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc). 

One of the highlights of this time was the opportunity to study abroad in Copenhagen, allowing him to step out of his comfort zone of a familiar language, cuisine, surroundings, and life in general. He made some of his best memories there.

Now at the beginning of his professional career at Drewett Works, he is studying for his licensure to become a registered architect.

Read on for more about Kyle. 

Where were you born? I was born in Lawrenceville, Ga., but I spent most of my childhood growing up on a hobby farm in northeastern Wisconsin.

Describe your family. Any good sibling stories? My family (immediate, extended, wife, in-laws, etc.) is amazing! Over the past couple of years, we have ended up in different areas, from Wisconsin to Minnesota and Oregon to California. Although we’re far from each other, we still manage to spend time together as much as possible. In January of 2022, my brother and sister-in-law had their first baby, and I am excited to be an uncle. My wife and I just got married in September of 2021 and can’t wait to start a family of our own. 

What turned you on to architecture? From a young age, I have had a fascination with art and design as well as problem-solving and creating. I have always been a creative. Architecture felt like a perfect mix between artistically creating and physically turning thoughts into 3-dimensional objects. I really began to enjoy architecture when attending SCI-Arc, and I am excited for my career ahead.

Free time activities? Biking, running, traveling, cooking, hiking, photography, graphic design, boating, golfing, yard games, exploring new places, anything outdoors! I always love trying new things as well. 

What has been the most influential/life-changing event in your life? Marrying the most important person in my life, Olivia. Our wedding day was so special — it was incredible looking into the crowd and seeing people from all walks of our lives under the same roof celebrating together. Truly unforgettable! 

First pet? My family had several growing up, but my wife and I are looking forward to getting a dog of our own. 

Favorite movie? Speed (1994)

Who is on your current playlist? Bon Iver

Fireplace or bonfire? Bonfire. Something about that campfire smell the following day…

Favorite free-time activity? Anything that gets me outside. I try to get out and enjoy different activities and explore new places, especially with so much to do around the Phoenix area.

Beach or mountains? I love both and feel there is a time for each, but I am more relaxed in the mountains.